Eight Brocades Chi Kung

The Baduanjin as a whole is broken down into eight separate exercises, each focusing on a different physical area and qi meridian. The Baduanjin traditionally contains both a standing and seated set of eight postures each. In the modern era, the standing version is by far the most widely practiced.

Sample Exercises (not all shown in the picture):

Two Hands Hold up the Heavens

Drawing the Bow to Shoot the Eagle / Hawk / Vulture

Separate Heaven and Earth

Wise Owl Gazes Backwards or Look Back

Sway the Head and Shake the Tail

Two Hands Hold the Feet to Strengthen the Kidneys and Waist

Clench the Fists and Glare Fiercely (or Angrily)

Bouncing on the Toes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *