Eight Branches of Daoist Study

Eight Branches of Daoist Study

Daoist tradition often described itself as having Eight Classic  Branches emanating from the ninth, the axial trunk of the Dao. Different writers describe these eight branches differently. Here is one version:

  1. Neigong, Internal alchemy. The stillness of the mind that bursts into the movement of Life through finding the center point between polarities.
  2. Qigong, which also includes taiji chuan, bagua zhang, and all sacred dance. Moving meditation as a body-centered path of unfolding Nature’s inner patterns.
  3. Dao philosophy – I Ching sciences: cosmology, astrology, numerology, physiognomy (face reading), palmisty, divination, and the application of these principles to any natural science.
  4. Healing/medical arts: acupuncture, tuiina, deep organ massage, moxa.
  5. Sexology: fangzhi (bedroom arts), medical and spiritual.
  6. Feng shui: living (homes, offices) and dead (graves).
  7. Five element nutrition & herbology.
  8. Fine/expressive qi arts: music, singing, calligraphy, painting, sculpture, storytelling (today film and theatre).

-Adapted from HealingTaoUSA.com.

-Photo Taoist Monk “100 Eyes” from Netflix’s Marco Polo Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *