Branches of Taoist Study

Branches of Taoist Study

Taoists describe Eight Classic Branches of Taoist study. Different writers describe these eight branches differently. Here is one version:

  1. Internal alchemy. The stillness of the mind that births movement by finding the center point between polarities.
  2. Chi Kung, which also includes tai chi and sacred dance. Moving meditation as a body-centered path of unfolding Nature’s inner patterns.
  3. Tao philosophy – I Ching sciences: cosmology, astrology, numerology, physiognomy (face reading), palmisty, divination, and the application of these principles to any natural science.
  4. Healing/medical arts: acupuncture, deep organ massage, moxa.
  5. Sexology: Bedroom arts, medical and spiritual.
  6. Feng shui: living (homes, offices) and dead (graves).
  7. Five element nutrition & herbology.
  8. Fine/expressive qi arts: music, singing, calligraphy, painting, sculpture, storytelling (today film and theatre).

-Adapted from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *